My Top Three Shop & Swap Flops

My Top Three Shop & Swap Flops

11220804_10156088433445494_6254963565746412693_n

Every time I need something for my kids, I find myself turning to those “Shop & Swap” sites on social media. And every time I regret it. Those sites are like giving birth. You forget how painful the whole event was the last time, so you go and do it again (and again and again…).

Now, I understand since the items are used, I should expect some wear-and-tear. I know if something sounds too good to be true, then it probably is. But sometimes, when I arrive to fetch an item from some stranger’s house, I feel like I’m being punked.

Here is a list of my top three Shop & Swap flops from various online shopping sites.

  1. The crack-uum

I was looking for a toy vacuum for my son, so when the following ad popped up, I jumped at it:

Toy vacuum for sale

Smoke and pet free home

It works but I took the batteries out because my daughter was afraid of the sounds lol!

$10.00 firm

This is what the ad should have said:

Broken toy vacuum for sale

Hope you don’t mind if I go for a smoke and take out my blue bags while you’re here

Stop by my crack den to do the exchange

$10.00 firm, but if you only have a $20, I’ll take that because…you know…crack

For some reason, I still bought the crack-uum. And it’s been a favourite toy of both my boys despite the fact it does nothing.

  1. Pajama Scam

A person was selling a lot of boys’ sleepers. I have two boys still in footed jammies, so I contacted her. Here’s what the ad said:

Big garbage bag of boys’ pajamas for sale

Mostly 12-18 months

All in gently used condition

$20 for lot OBO

This is what the ad should have said:

Big garbage bag of boys’ pajamas for sale

Mostly 12-18 months but I cut all the feet out so they fit more like 24 months

Other than the gaping foot holes, jammies are in gently used condition

$20 firm

Uuummmmm…gently used by what? Savage wolves? When I broached the subject of the amputated jammies, she said, “Oh I know they’re probably no good anymore but I just couldn’t bear to throw them out…memories, you know?”

Due to my fear of confrontation, I bought the jammies. All of them. For the full asking price.

  1. The Invisi-boots 

I posted an ad looking for winter boots for my son. Here’s what the ad said:

Wanted

Boy’s winter boots in good condition

Size 6

Here’s what the reply should have said:

I have what you’re looking for.

Here’s a picture to entice you.

I’ll pretend to leave the boots on the step so you can pick them up.

We’ll play this cat-and-mouse game three times before you foolishly leave the money in my mailbox anyway in hopes I’ll someday leave the boots on my step for you like I said I would.

But I’m never going to HA, HA, HA! SUCKER!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a yard sale to plan. For sale: a crack-uum; some footless pajamas and some invisi-boots. Because, you know, I can’t bear to throw them out.

Memories, you know.

Leave a Reply

