Momologues: Call for Submissions (in support of Postpartum Progress’ Climb Out of the Darkness)

Momologues: Call for Submissions (in support of Postpartum Progress’ Climb Out of the Darkness)

Happy celebrating winning success woman at sunset or sunrise standing elated with arms raised up above her head in celebration of having reached mountain top summit goal during hiking travel trek.

I am looking for some brave women to share their stories about postpartum depression on my blog. Your story can be as detailed (or not) as you’d like it to be. You can write anonymously, or I can credit you as the author. It can be long or short, full of anger, love, confusion, guilt, humor, frustration, magic, hope, sadness…whatever your journey is, just write it.You can send me your perfectly polished essay or one huge run-on sentence. Anything goes with this call for guest bloggers.

I’m looking to publish a handful of these stories between June 15-29 (the weeks before and after Climb Out of the Darkness).

I have a few reasons for putting out this call:

1. It’s cathartic to share our experiences. It helps in healing and dealing.

2. In the coming weeks, I’ll be speaking to media and government types (again) about the need for improved resources in this area of mental health. The general public needs to know the breadth of this concern.

3. I want to sway people who are on the fence about attending Climb Out of the Darkness (walk for maternal mental health Saturday, June 20, 11am @ Victoria Park).

If you have a story, let me know. If you’re nervous about submitting, let’s just chat (privately) about it. I’ve been through this twice, and I promise to respect your privacy and your story. Send your submissions to: llcarmody@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

